THE CROW (OST)(Ltd.Etch.Ed.180gm 2LP Czech Import)(Atlantic2020)

Atlantic Records


Limited Etched Edition 180 Gram 2LP Czech Import w/gatefold sleeve.

The album featured covers, including Nine Inch Nails who covered Joy Division's "Dead Souls", Pantera who covered Poison Idea's "The Badge", and Rollins Band who covered Suicide's "Ghost Rider", which is about a Marvel Comics character. Rage Against the Machine re-recorded their 1991 B-side "Darkness of Greed" and renamed it "Darkness" for this soundtrack. My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult re-recorded their original song, "Nervous Xians" and re-titled it, "After the Flesh" for this film. They were also the band onstage during the nightclub shootout scene. The Cure also wrote the song "Burn" for the movie. Stone Temple Pilots originally intended to re-record a song off their Mighty Joe Young demo, titled "Only Dying", but was never able to when Brandon Lee had died during production. Medicine re-recorded their song "Time Baby II" for the film's soundtrack album as "Time Baby III", which featured guest vocals by Elizabeth Fraser of Cocteau Twins, although the original version is performed by Medicine in the film. "It Can't Rain All the Time" was co-written by Jane Siberry and the film's composer Graeme Revell, performed by Siberry. An orchestral version of "It Can't Rain All the Time" can be heard in the film multiple times.

The inclusion of songs written by The Cure & Joy Division are notable because the influences of both bands are present in the original comic book. James O'Barr, the creator of The Crow, reprinted the lyrics to the song "The Hanging Garden" by The Cure on an entire page, and some chapters of the comic book are named after Joy Division songs – "Atmosphere" and "Atrocity Exhibition", for example. In one panel, Eric even quotes a lyric from the song "Disorder" from the album Unknown Pleasures. O'Barr was a big fan of both bands when he was creating the comic book.

Tracks include:

01 Burn - The Cure
02 Golgotha Tenement Blues - Machines of Loving Grace
03 Big Empty - Stone Temple Pilots
04 Dead Souls - Nine Inch Nails (Joy Division cover)
05 Darkness - Rage Against the Machine (Darkness of Greed re-recording)
06 Color Me Once - Violent Femmes
07 Ghostrider - Rollins Band (Suicide cover)
08 Milktoast - Helmet (AKA Milquetoast)
09 The Badge - Pantera (Poison Idea cover)
10 Slip Slide Melting - For Love Not Lisa
11 After the Flesh - My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult
12 Snakedriver - The Jesus & Mary Chain
13 Time Baby III - Medicine (Time Baby II re-recording)
14 It Can't Rain ALl The Time - Jane Siberry


*LP remains unopened & slip-case is crease-free.
*Non-returnable/Non-refundable if opened.
Packed & Shipped with extra care!

UPC: 603497846146