PINK FLOYD: THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON (Ltd.Ed.180gm Heavyweight)(Floyd2016)

Floyd Records


Limited Edition 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP pressing w/gatefold sleeve.

*Includes 2 posters & 2 stickers.
*2016 Version remastered from the original analogue tapes by James Guthrie, Joel Plante & Bernie Grundman.

The 8th album originally released on 1 March 1973, on Harvest Records, it built on ideas explored in the band's earlier recordings and live shows, but departs from instrumental thematic by founding member Syd Barrett.

The album explores themes including conflict, greed, the passage of time and mental illness, the latter partly inspired by Barrett's deteriorating mental state.
Developed during live performances, an early version was premiered several months before recording began; new material was recorded in two sessions in 1972 & 1973 at Abbey Road in London. The group used some advanced recording techniques at the time, including multitrack recording and tape loops. Analogue synthesizers were prominent in several tracks, and snippets from recorded interviews with Pink Floyd's road crew and others provided philosophical quotations throughout.
Engineer Alan Parsons was responsible for many distinctively notable sonic aspects and the recruitment of non-lexical singer Clare Torry.

The album's iconic sleeve, designed by Storm Thorgerson, depicts a prism dispersing light into colour & represents the band's lighting, the record's thematic material & keyboardist Richard Wright's "simple and bold" design request.

Tracks include:

- SIDE1 -
1 Speak to Me 1:05
2 Breathe (In the Air) 2:49
3 On the Run 3:45
4 Time 6:58
5 The Great Gig in the Sky 4:43
- SIDE2 -
1 Money 6:28
2 Us and Them 7:49
3 Any Colour You Like 3:26
4 Brain Damage 3:46
5 Eclipse 2:01

*LP remains unopened & slip-case is crease-free.
*Non-returnable/Non-refundable if opened.
Packed & Shipped with extra care!

UPC: 888751842519